Windows provides 3 distinct ways to clear all TPM data. Your UEFI provides ways to clear TPM data. It is under *YOUR* control.
The "He who can destroy a thing controls it" idea from Dune was about political control, not direct and literal. You can destroy that data at any time, but that's the extent of your control over it. That's not nothing, but it's far from the hardware working for you.
The fact that a root user can't access information al-a-carte is foundational to the feature
Right, that's why the feature is not for my benefit. If I want to bypass security between applications which is not for my benefit (for example to prevent me from copying data that I'm actually intending to copy) and I can't do that because TPM says no, that's working against me.
Having a separate secure enclave is a good idea, having it be so secure that I can't do what I want with it when I want to is a bad one. Most users won't even try, you only need to make it so that they can't trivially be tricked into it. A big warning, a short delay, a hoop to jump through so that a person who can't read the warning can't get there.